From TARGIT 2022 Winter
In organizations that rely heavily on Data Discovery, resulting in huge quantities of Data Discovery data sources and Data Discovery cubes, it have been a long term wish to be able to organize these data sources and cubes into folders.
The folders will help maintaining a better overview, and it will make administration easier.
In the 'Data Sources' tab as well as in the 'Cubes' tab you will have options to create folders and subfolders, and to move data sources and cubes from one folder to another.
In the following, principles for creating folders, moving content to folders and removing folders are explained for the 'Data Sources' tab. Similar principles of course apply when working with cubes and folders on the 'Cubes' tab.
To create a new folder, click the 'Create Folder' button:
The new folder will by default be placed on the root folder level, but it can easily be dragged and drop to one of the existing folders to become a subfolder in the new location.
You can also create a subfolder to one of the existing folders by right clicking that folder and select 'Create subfolder':
Move content to folder
You can move content (data sources or cubes) from one folder to another simply by drag and drop.
Another way is to right click the content to be moved, and then select 'Move to folder':
You can use standard multi-select options (CTRL or SHIFT keys) to select multiple sources or cubes before taking an action on them.
Removing and deleting content and folders
When you remove a data source, a cube or a subfolder, the content is moved to the root folder.
When you delete a data source, a cube or a folder, it is permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.
When deleting a data source that is used in one or more cubes, you will see a warning:
You cannot delete a folder unless it is empty: