Anywhere Share Document link

Cloud release: 17 April 2024
On-prem release: Ultimo April 2024 (TBC)

You can easily share a link to the current document in your browser based Anywhere client.

The Share button in the Anywhere client's toolbar gives you these options for sharing the document:

  • Link: This link will open the document in its original, saved state.
  • Global criteria: This link will open the document in its current state - including any global criteria you may have added, but excluding drill down criteria.
  • All criteria: This link will open the document in its current state - including any global criteria and any drill down criteria you may have added.

When sharing a link with criteria, the link is saved as a temporary bookmark file on the TARGIT server. The saved link will expire and be deleted after 90 days.

If a user tries to open an expired or erroneous link, the following error message will appear:

Note: Anywhere links created in TARGIT versions prior to this release will not work from this version.

Anywhere Share Document links in older versions

In Anywhere versions prior to the April 2024 version, you could also share documents with or without criteria. The dialog looked like this:

In these versions, when criteria were included, the general 'Link' URL were modified accordingly. The downside of this were that the URL might become many thousands characters long - and in some cases too long to be handled by the user's browser.

This issue is now fixed with the concept of temporary bookmark files for links where criteria is included.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.